Which countries can opt for it and how to apply

Do you want to live in America? Registration opens next Wednesday, October 5, 2022.

The United States government has announced that online registration for the 2024 Diversity Visa Program, also known as the “Visa Lottery or Visa Lottery,” will begin on Wednesday, October 5, 2022 at 12:00 PM and will continue until Tuesday, November 8. 2022.

What is Visa Lottery?

The program was created in 1990 to welcome immigrants from countries that have historically had very low rates of immigration to the United States. It is often called the green card lottery because recipients of green cards are randomly selected from a list of eligible applicants.

The State Department, which administers the program, has announced that 55,000 immigrant visas, or green cards, will be issued by 2024. Registration for the Diversity Visa (TV) program is free.

Prospective candidates have to register through the portal dvprogram.state.gov, but first they must meet strict eligibility requirements. Only certain countries can participate.

Which countries will participate in the 2024 visa lottery?

The State Department offers diversity visas in six geographic regions, and no state qualifies for more than 7 percent of available diversity visas.

Countries Eligible for this Scheme:

From the African continent:

Angola, Algeria, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ivory Coast, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Swaziland, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Morocco, Mauritius, Mauritania, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Rwanda, Saint Petersburg Dome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia , South Africa, South Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

See also  'Bon pan out, down with the worm!': The government of Neuvitas responds to its citizens' protests

On the Old Continent (Europe):

Albania, Germany, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Iceland, Italy Kyrgyzstan, Latvia and Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao EEZ, North Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovakia Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan and the Vatican.

Insular America



Australia, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, New Zealand, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu.

Central and South America and the Caribbean

Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Chile, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Surina, Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay.

Which countries cannot participate in the visa lottery?

The United States does not allow people from high-immigrant countries to participate. Citizens of the following countries are not eligible to apply for the 2024 edition, as more than 50,000 people from these countries have immigrated to the United States in the past five years:

Bangladesh, Brazil, Canada, China (including Hong Kong Special Administrative Region), Dominican Republic, Colombia, El Salvador, Haiti, Honduras, India, Jamaica, Mexico, Nigeria, Pakistan, Philippines, Republic of Korea (South Korea), United Kingdom (North (except Ireland) and its dependent territories of Venezuela and Vietnam.

If you are from a high immigration country, how can you participate? If your country does not qualify, there are two other ways to participate in the Diversity Visa Program.

See also  Level - Appointed Sports Advisor to the Martinez Executive Branch, Point Pedro

1) If your spouse is from a country with a historically low US immigration rate, you can include your spouse’s country of birth as long as you apply at the same time.

2) If your parents were born in their respective country at the time of birth, you can apply for courses with these nationalities.

2024 Green Card Lottery Registration Requirements

According to information provided by the US State Department, the eligibility requirements are:

  • Must have at least a high school diploma or equivalent, i.e. 12 years of formal primary and secondary education.
  • Two years of work experience within the last five years in an occupation requiring at least two years of training.

How to Register for 2024 Visa Lottery?

You must access the portal to enroll in the program https://dvprogram.state.gov/ on the date indicated (between 5 October 2022 and 12:00 noon on Tuesday, 8 November 2022). Due to the high number of requests received, it is recommended to register as soon as possible; According to US State Department records, 14 million people participated between 2016 and 2018.

What happens if I am selected for a diversity visa?

Results will be valid from May 6, 2023 to at least September 30, 2024.

Successful applicants must file a green card application using Form DS-260 and then participate in an interview.

In addition, they must have sufficient financial means to live in the United States during the year of visa issuance (2024).

Only one entry per person is allowed; Additional participation will result in disqualification.

Esmond Harmon

"Entrepreneur. Social media advocate. Amateur travel guru. Freelance introvert. Thinker."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top