What is a summer solstice, what does it mean, and when does it occur?

(CNN Spanish) – Welcome to summer! This is celebrated on June 21st Summer solstice In the Northern Hemisphere, with it, the arrival of the hottest season of the year. This is what you need to know about the expected astronomical event.

The Science of Summer Solstice

The earth revolves around the sun at an angle. “Its oblique axis always points in the same direction. Therefore, throughout the year, different parts of the earth receive direct sunlight,” NASA explains.

When the sun peaks in the northern hemisphere, it is the summer solstice.

At the time, the service reported that “the sun was directly above 23.5 ° north latitude, passing through Mexico, the Bahamas, Egypt, Saudi Arabia, India and southern China.” National Weather.

Of all the places north of the Kataka zodiac, the summer solstice day is the longest. The days before your arrival are long gone and then begin to decline.

In the Arctic Circle, according to the time and date portal, there is 24 hours of sunlight. Just because it’s a very long day, does not mean it is too close sunrise, the site explains. It happens a few days before the solstice and a few days after the latest sunset.

It’s about being slim, not close

The Earth returns completely to the Sun in an elliptical orbit each year, so the distance to the star will vary depending on the moment.

The moment closest to the sun is called the perihelion, which occurs in January. Meanwhile, something farther away from the star, called Abelion, occurs in July. Therefore, it does not coincide with the solstice: the solstice is connected with the slope of the earth, not by its proximity.

See also  Exception: Guillermo Lasso tells police that the government supports them and accepts their legal protection Politics | News

Contrary to what you may think, it is the slope, not the intimacy, that determines the seasons. According to the National Weather Service.

What time is the summer solstice?

Tuesday June 21st, but what about the right time? Occurs at 09:13 UTC. The specific answer to the question depends on where you are in the world. Here is a list of local times of the solstice in some major cities in the United States and Europe:

  • Miami: 05:13
  • Mexico City: 4:13
  • Los Angeles: 2:13
  • London: 10:13
  • Madrid: 11:13

If you want to know the exact time at your place of residence, you can get the information This year on the siteandandate.com and the following.

The site explains, Although many people think that the solstice always occurs on June 21st, it may occur between the 20th and 22nd. A transit of 22 is rare, according to the review: the last was in 1975, the next in 2203.

What is happening in the South in the meantime?

Meanwhile, the southern hemisphere is preparing for the opposite situation: June 21 sees the shortest day of the year, with the arrival of winter. However, from the 21st until the summer solstice of December, the days begin to extend.

The last month of the year celebrates the northern summer solstice, while the northern winter solstice, which marks the short day and the long night. It occurs, “The sun is directly above Capricorn, located 23.5 south of the equator and crossing Australia, Chile, southern Brazil and northern South Africa”, According to the National Weather Service.

See also  Insurgent Haitian police threaten to "burn the country" if gangs do not hand over their comrades' bodies

Esmond Harmon

"Entrepreneur. Social media advocate. Amateur travel guru. Freelance introvert. Thinker."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top