The main date of Saturday, May 15, is approaching more than 2 billion WhatsApp users. The deadline for its customers to accept the new terms and conditions proposed by the company caused a wave of criticism against the platform earlier this year. Controversy relates to privacy: Recognizing these new terms means accepting that the news service’s parent company shares some data with Facebook. According to El Boss, Facebook can do business with them.
Those who do not accept the new update will receive limited service from the 15th. For example, they will not be able to access your chat list when you open the app. They can, of course, answer calls and video calls right now and read messages or read responsive notifications. The company says that if they have activated notifications, they can read messages or touch them to respond, as well as withdraw missed calls or video calls.
However, after a few weeks of “limited operation”, the situation of the unapproved user becomes complicated. “You will not receive incoming calls or notifications, and WhatsApp will stop sending messages and calls on your phone,” the company explains. At some point, after receiving increasingly compelling notifications to make a decision, users will have to accept new terms or they will not be able to use WhatsApp “anyway”. Additionally, if a user does not use the Site for more than 120 days, the account “for maintaining security, restricting data retention and protecting users’ privacy” will be deleted.