The World Baseball Classic returns to Puerto Rico

He World Baseball Classic Organizing Committee Major League Baseball (MLB) Will return to Puerto Rico in 2026.

He Hiram Bithorn Stadium in San Juan According to written information from MLB, he will once again serve as host for a few games at the event, which will feature the participation of the world's best players. Puerto Rico last hosted the World Baseball Classic in 2013.. He presented the games in 2006 and 2009 editions.

“We are extremely grateful and honored to be selected once again as one of the venues for the 2026 World Baseball Classic.”said Anaymir “Tuti” Muñoz, Vice President of MB Sports.

“Having the honor of producing one of the MB Sports circuits in 2006, it is a wonderful gift to Puerto Rico to celebrate the 20th anniversary of this prestigious tournament. For over 23 years we have been at the forefront of Major League Baseball on the island, as the nation's leaders. Sports producer. Honoring our rich baseball history. Moreover, we promise an unprecedented event that will create an exciting future. “Baseball fans in Puerto Rico and around the world should prepare for an unforgettable experience.”

Image of the World Baseball Classic at Hiram Pithorn Stadium in 2009. (Ramon “Donito” Zayas / Staff)

Minute Maid Park in Houston and the Tokyo Dome in Japan have been selected for the preliminary rounds, while Ion Depot Park in Miami, Florida will be the home of the semifinals and championship match.

See also  Galtier responds to controversial Tipu Martinez celebrations

Countries such as the United States, Japan, Dominican Republic, Venezuela, South Korea, Mexico and Puerto Rico have their respective locations. Others have to go through a classification process.

In the 2023 edition, Canada, Cuba, Panama, Italy, Israel, Holland, Australia, England and the Czech Republic participated.

Puerto Rico finished the last match with a 3-1 record in the group stage and advanced to the quarterfinals, thereby securing a ticket to 2026. Mexico beat the Puerto Ricans 5-4 in the quarterfinals.

The final was between USA and Japan. The Japanese won their third championship in five editions 3-2. They also won the tournament in 2006 and 2009.

Puerto Rico was runner-up in 2013 and 2017.

Wilmot Chandler

"Explorer. Web specialist. Beer practitioner. Alcoholaholic. Social media geek. Introvert. Food lover. Future teen idol."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top