(CNN) — If you haven’t signed in to your Google account in a while, it’s time to do so or you’ll lose it.
Google announced on Tuesday that it will begin deleting accounts that have been inactive for at least two years in an effort the company says is trying to avoid security risks.
The updated policy will take effect immediately, but Google said it will only start deleting accounts until December. The company plans to send multiple warning notifications to users and gradually retire inactive accounts.
Google says that the first accounts to be deleted are those created and not viewed by the user. Additionally, the policy only affects individual accounts, leaving institutions like schools and businesses untouched.
Google explained that its decision was based on internal findings that older accounts are more likely to trust recycled passwords and less likely to use up-to-date security measures like two-step verification. Penetration Computers and spam.
The decision to remove the accounts goes a step further than the previous policy. In 2020, Google said it will remove content from its services from users who don’t use it, but the accounts won’t disappear.
To avoid losing your account, all you have to do is sign in to your Gmail account or any other Google service to read email, watch a video, search, or do anything else.