(CNN Spanish) — Share it This Tuesday brought several privacy updates to the messaging app.
“At WhatsApp, privacy is in our DNA, and we never stop developing new ways to protect your private conversations,” the company said in a blog post.
“Today, we’re excited to introduce several new privacy features that provide an even higher level of security and give you more control over your messages,” he added.
Here are the updates that WhatsApp announced on Tuesday:
Leave groups quietly
Now you can leave WhatsApp group privately without informing all users in the group. With the feature, which will be available to all users this month, only group administrators will be notified when you leave, the company said.
Who can see you online? Choose yourself
With the introduction of WhatsApp, you now have the ability to choose who you can and can’t see online When you’re online. You can choose to have everyone see when you’re online, your contacts, some of your contacts, or nobody. This feature will be available to all users this month.
Screenshot lock in single view messages
Now there’s a Single View feature, which is a way to share photos or media files that don’t require a permanent digital record, the company said. Now, privacy protection has been increased by enabling screenshot blocking for these types of messages. However, WhatsApp says that this functionality is in a testing period and has not announced when it will be available.
WhatsApp has more than 2 billion users worldwide and is owned by Facebook’s (FB) parent company Meta. Announcing the changes to Facebook and Instagram, CEO Mark Zuckerberg said the company will “continue to create new ways to protect your messages.”