FIFA analyzes the strange qualification format in South America for the 2026 World Cup | Football | Sports

When there are still five months to start World Cup Qatar 2022Debut World Cup 2026 This is starting to happen in North America based on the classification format of the new competition.

The competition is about to take place Canada, United States and Mexico, It will have 48 participants for the first time in history, so the rules of classification will be changed, with six nations in Conmebol and a seventh playing in the playoffs.

With this in mind, FIFA and Conmebol have already begun to analyze what this system will look like and the start date next year.

The format of the South American qualifiers for next year may change.
Photo: Jose Jacom Pool

In Peru, the television media, Movistar Deportes, announced that one way was to form two teams of five nations with the novelty of not playing each other; Instead, they will play 10 games against rivals.

Those in Group A will play five games with those in Group B. He replied that the first two of each key will enter the World Cup, and those who occupy levels 3 and 4 in each will play a tour home run to classify the other two. Chile’s La Guarda newspaper.

That home run will feature repechage in round-the-clock tournaments between third and fourth place finishers, while all four of the assorted will make another home run, defining levels 1 to 4, and highlighted. Infobae website.

If Conmebol approves this design, the South American qualifying rounds will begin in September 2023, but if everyone decides to continue with the current one, it will begin in March next year.


We recommend these messages

See also  'Tigress can play in League 1 and be well classified without problems'

Wilmot Chandler

"Explorer. Web specialist. Beer practitioner. Alcoholaholic. Social media geek. Introvert. Food lover. Future teen idol."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top