Croatia will enter the Schengen Area and the Eurozone from January 1

As of January 1, 2023 Croatia will start using the euro as its currency And you will be formally committed to Schengen area. This accession will eliminate border controls between the 26 other member states in the region and Croatia. This scale is The first expansion of the Schengen area in nearly a decadeAnd the to me Czech Presidency of the Council of the European Union.

This is an advertisement It became official On December 8, 2022, as a result of Croatia’s action to comply with the requirements of the Schengen Area, after its accession to the European Union in 2013. Thus, from January 1, 2023 Controls will be removed For people on the internal land and sea borders between Croatia and the rest of the member states in the region. With regard to internal air borders, The controls will be removed from March 26, 2023.

According to the adoption of the euro as a common currency, This decision It became official on July 12, 2022 and will also enter into force on the first day of 2023. In this way, Croatia will be the twentieth country to join the Eurozone, after fulfilling the required economic criteria.

What is the Schengen area?

Schengen area Arises of the Schengen Agreement and the Schengen Agreement signed in 1985 and 1990 respectively. in this way, More than 400 million people can cross freely, without passing border controls, between member states. Although Croatia was recently accepted as a member state, the Ordered from Romania and Bulgaria It is rejected due to the opposition of two countries, although the Council of Europe suggests its early entry.

See also  "There is a growth in the federal perspective"

On the other hand, the incorporation of Croatia into Euro-zone Represents the most recent admission since Acceptance Lithuania in 2015. The use of the euro as the common currency in the eurozone seeks greater financial security for the member countries, as well as a better standard of living for its citizens. Currently only these EU member states are not part of the Eurozone: Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Hungary, Poland, Romania and Sweden.

a) yes, Croatia will be the 27th country in the Schengen Area and the 20th in the Eurozone. In this way, its citizens and the citizens of member states will be able to cross freely in these territories without having to go through border controls. Likewise, they will be able to enjoy the benefits of using a common currency, facilitating business transactions for citizens and businesses in the eurozone.

Download the note
Follow us on Google News

Myrtle Frost

"Reader. Evil problem solver. Typical analyst. Unapologetic internet ninja."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top