Agas became Ecuador’s champion in the final against Barcelona

Agas players and coaching staff as they beat Barcelona in the final to claim the 2022 LigaPro Champions Cup. Photo: Diego Ballero / EL COMERCIO

Agas is the Ecuadorian soccer champion and his fans are unleashed in celebration. ‘Baba’ Agas equalizes 0-0 as goalkeeper Hernan Galindes saves a penalty against Barcelona at the Gonzalo Bozo Ribalta stadium in Quito on November 13, 2022. ‘That score was good enough for Edolo del Pueblo. Ecuador claim its first champion crown in soccer’s highest division.

It’s a historic day for the Easterners and their loyal fans, who have been waiting to shout champions in Ecuadorian football for more than six decades.

Aucas was founded in 1945 and professional championships in Ecuador began in 1957. Thus, after 65 years, the cast of gold and maroon could finally shout champions!

The tie was good enough, as the first leg in the final, played last week in Guayaquil, Orientals won 1-0. Experienced Edison Vega was the creator of that goal.

Thus, the overall score was 1-0 Ahaz.

Figure of Hernan Galindus, Champion Agasil

One of the heroes of the day was the goalkeeper Hernan CalindezIn the 75th minute Damien ‘Kidu’ Diaz saved a penalty shot.

That action was crucial in a game that went down to the last second.

It was a close match. Barcelona made as many or more risky options, but local fans know how to inspire a team that will go down in history to the delight of fans who never lose the illusion of being champions.

Names like DT César Farías, Víctor Figueroa, Ricardo Adé, Hernán Galíndez; Cain Fara, Luis Kanga, Pedro Perlaza, Johnny Quinos, Edison Caicedo, Carlos Cuero, Francisco Fidriszewski, Roberto Ordonez and many others are already in the history of the gold and grana club.

See also  Always charge the laptop or use the battery?
Hernan Calindez of Aguas saves a penalty against Barcelona at the Gonzalo Bozo Ribalta stadium on November 13, 2022.

Key minutes of the match between Agas and Barcelona

At 13′, Eric Castillo He came close to scoring for Barcelona but his shot was deflected by defender Ricardo Ade.

In the 19′, Aucas’ Edison Caiseto was booked for a foul on Adonis Preciato on the edge of the area. Barcelona then had a set piece, but Michael Garcelon’s shot went wide.

In the 23′, Michael Carcelon of PSC received a yellow card for a foul on Cain Farah.

On 30 minutes, Pedro Perlaza came out full speed with the ball, on the counterattack, but the visiting defense responded in time to recover the ball.

33′, Eric Castillo advances from the right and breaks into the area, but his shot is deflected by defender Ade, who dives to avoid the Canarian attacker’s shot.

38′, New free throw for Barcelona from the right. The ball went wide, but BSC were very dangerous in that area.

In the 40′, Agas managed to score the match goal after a move from the right by Pedro Perlaza, despite the ball being easily controlled by goalkeeper Javier Burre.

At 45′, Carlos Queiroz was a clear attacking performer. His shot, almost without an angle from the right, hit the post and then a Canarian defender deflected it into a corner shot.

The match referee added two extra minutes to the first half.

Photos: Diego Ballero / EL COMERCIO

Photos: Diego Ballero / EL COMERCIO

Manuel Uquilas and Edison Maldonado (right) for Barcelona and Aucas in that row.  Photo: Diego Ballero / EL COMERCIO

Manuel Uquilas and Edison Maldonado (right) for Barcelona and Aucas in that row. Photo: Diego Ballero / EL COMERCIO

Second time

Edison Vega came on for Edison Caicedo in the second half.

See also  The New Zealand national team scored 3 home goals in 36 minutes

51′, goalkeeper Hernán Galindes wins the ball against Ercik Castillo and saves Agas.

57′, Aukas struggles and Luis Kanga gets to the top to turn a center towards the corner.

59′, Johnny Quiñones is booked for a foul on Carcelon.

60′, Sergio Lopez replaces Johnny Quiñones in Aguas.

65′, two attacking changes for Barcelona. Didi Fabian Bustos sent on strikers Jairo Cifuente and Fidel Martinez. Jonathan Perlaza and Michael Garcelon left.

67′ Roberto Ordóñez comes on for Juan Manuel Tevez. La’Duka received a yellow card as he left the field.

68′, goalkeeper Javier Burray saves his team in a move against recently entered Tevez.

VAR was the hero in the 69′. The referees reviewed an action between Castillo and Pedro Perlaza. A hand is claimed within the Agas player’s area. Minutes later, referee Luis Queiroz awarded a penalty in favor of Barcelona.

75′, Penalty in favor of Barcelona. Damian Diaz cashed in against Hernan Calindez. The goalkeeper was the hero.

90′, game over. 2022 Aucas Champion in Ecuador

Aucas and Barcelona, ​​both historical

In the final round, Aucas del DT Cesar Farias Made history. Since 1957, professional championships have been played in Ecuador, and a team from the capital has never been champion. Now, they have gone years without winning the highest title in Ecuadorian football.

For its part, Barcelona, ​​from TD Fabian Busts, No return found. The Canaries stayed in Ecuador with 16 championship titles.

Renovations of Agas and Barcelona


Hernan Calindez; Cain Farah, Luis Kanga, Ricardo Ade, Pedro Perlaza, Johnny Quiñones, Edison Caicedo and Carlos Cuero; Victor Figueroa, Francisco Fidriszewski, Roberto Ordonez.

See also  Rover Companion Intelligent Helicopter calls home from Mars


Javier Burraí; Pedro Pablo Velasco, Darío Aimar, Carlos Rodríguez, Leonai Souza, Bruno Piñatares, Michael Carcelén, Jonathan Perlaza, Damián Diaz and Adonis Preciado; Eric Castillo

Champion teams in Ecuador

Professional championships have been held in the country since 1957. That first match was played by Barcelona, ​​Emelec, Agas and Deportivo Quito. ‘Bombillo’ was the first champion.

Here are the Ecuadorian clubs and their titles in Serie A:

  • barcelona, 16 titles (1960, 63, 66, 70, 71, 80, 81, 85, 87, 89, 91, 95, 97, 2012, 2016, 2020)
  • Emelek, 14 titles (1957, 61, 65, 72, 79, 88, 93, 94, 2001.02, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2017)
  • National13 titles (1967, 73, 76, 77, 78, 82, 83, 84, 86, 92, 96, 2005, 2006)
  • Quito League, 11 titles (1969, 74, 75, 90, 98, 99, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2010, 2018)
  • Game Kido5 titles (1964, 1968, 2008, 2009, 2011).
  • Everest, 1 degree (1962)
  • Olmedo1 Title (2000)
  • Deportivo Cuenca, 1 title (2004)
  • Dolphin1 Title (2019)
  • Freedom of the Valley, 1 Title (2021)
  • Agas, 1 title (2022)

A few facts about the championship

  • El Nacional is the only team to win three times. For this reason, military actors are also called ‘Pitricambian’. He was champion in 1976, 1977, 1978 in addition to 1982, 1983, 1984.
  • Emelec was a three-time champion in 2013, 2014 and 2015.
  • Five clubs are two-time champions: Barcelona, ​​Emelec, El Nacional, Liga de Quito and Deportivo Quito.

Visit our portals:

Eden Hayes

"Wannabe gamer. Subtly charming beer buff. General pop culture trailblazer. Incurable thinker. Certified analyst."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top